Chinese Herbal Medicine-HK Sanlida Intl Healthcare Products

Terms Of TCM

Google+Share on Facebook


The term qi

1. Denotes minute particles of material, rich in nutrition and circulating around the body, e.g. the qi of water and grain.
2. Denotes the active power of viscera, e.g. the qi of the five internal organs.
In clinical work, when the term qi is used, it most probably denotes a symptom or symptoms of some disorder of the viscera, e.g. the qi of the liver offends the stomach.

Five internal organs(Zang) and six hollow organs(Fu)

Traditional Chinese medicine holds the view that in the human body there are five substantial Zang organs (Zang is dark in color), each of which corresponds to a Fu organ, which is an internally hollow organ (Fu is light in color) and is connected with other Fu organs through channels and collaterals, thus forming two distinct zang and Fu systems, differing widely from the theory of Western anatomy so far as functions are concerned.
1.The term five internal organs usually denotes heart, liver, spleen, lungs and kidneys
Heart:  heart storing spirit and governing blood and vessels;
Lung:   lung governing qi,storing inferior spirit; lung connecting all vessels;
Liver:   liver controlling conveyance and dispersion;
           liver governing ascending and dredging;
spleen governing movement and transformation;
          spleen being acquired foundation;
          spleen governing ascending clear;
          spleen controlling blood;
          spleen governing limbs;
          spleen governing muscles;

Kidney:  kidney being congenital origin;
           kidney governing storage;
           kidney governing reproduction;
           kidney governing water metabolism;
           kidney governing bones;

2. The term hollow organ generally denotes an organ in the abdomen which is hollow inside and has a cavity, performing the function of receiving, storing, transporting and transforming water and grain. The six hollow organs comprise: gallbladder, stomach, bowels, intestines, (urinary) bladder and the three visceral cavities (which house the internal organs).   The three visceral cavities are passages for the circulation of water and grain and vital energy.
Note:  The terms spleen (i.e. the explanation of the term) and three visceral cavities are unique and specific to traditional Chinese medicine in its theory of the five internal organs and the six internal hollow organs.
 Meridians and collaterals:
The main passages of the network are the principal channels, which connect different parts of the body and through which vital energy circulates, regulating bodily functions.  The branches that diverge from the principal channels and link them with each other, forming a network throughout the body, are called collateral channels.  This network constitutes the entire system of passages for circulating vital energy throughout the body, connecting the visceral organs and the limbs and joints of the body, providing communication all over the body, and regulating all bodily functions.
Salivary fluid : 
This is the combination name of saliva and body fluid.  It means the fluid in the human body, which is produced by chemical transformation from the minute particles of dietary water and grain.
Related Articles:
Scientific Concept of Kidney Function in Chinese Medicine
The Difference Between Chinese Medicine and Western Medicine


Products/Columns Lists
Related content
You have read